Here’s a card that I have made for my mother-in-law’s upcoming birthday. Along with embossing and fussy-cutting, there’s lots of love in there.

I’ve also used the new coloured embossing powders from Stampin’ Up! (Melon Mambo and Wild Wasabi) for the floral embellishment on the front page , which compliments the “Beyond the Garden” DSP. The colours just ‘pop’, don’t they?

 I learnt a new trick with my Top Note Die while making this card and, just quietly, I’m feeling a little pleased with myself. The front flap of the card is part of the card, rather than a separately attached ‘feature’. So here’s a tip for all those old dogs trying to learn some new tricks. To make the front flap: when making my ‘sandwich’ for the Big Shot I have the bottom plate, then the Top note Die and then the card stock strip (148mm x 297mm), then place only half(ish) of the cutting plate on top as you don’t want all of the Top Note shape to cut out. Once your shape has been cut, you may need to trim your card  stock a fraction to make a standard size card, but not much.  This is what it looks like standing open.

I hope that makes sense – For me it is one of those visual things, so if you would like pictorial instructions let me know and I will do some 🙂  All the goodies that I used for this card are available in the new Summer Mini Catalogue and all purchases over $100 qualify for free Sale-a-bration goodies.  Contact me if you would like to know more.

In the meantime, Happy Birthday Mater!

Keep inky!

Michelle 

