Well it’s the 4th  6th 9th of January and it looks like my first resolution to blog more regularly is out the window. If that’s how I’ve started, I can only imagine that I’ve already starting to pave my way to hell with all my other good intentions for the rest of the year. So while I was pondering this quandary I thought I would see how others are going with their New Year’s resolutions and I feel that I found someone who was in a similar place (thanks Mads!), and she pointed me to this blog. The crux of the post was this: How about just enjoying the year and celebrating all the good things that happen, rather than being disappointed by the things that you don’t get done? What a plan! You don’t need to beat yourself up about not having the perfect life that is mythically portrayed in the movies/magazines/lifestyle programs/internet land. None of us are superhuman, we can’t do everything and please all of the people all of the time and have everything ironed with the house sparkly clean to boot. We just have to accept that our best is good enough. Take time for you, to do want you want, what makes you happy. Doing that will make you a better person for those around you. If you don’t look after you, you won’t be able to look after them. Ok?

 I met someone yesterday that was on her way to start her afternoon shift and had decided on the spur of the moment to go skydiving.

“EEEEEEEEEEEEEEKKKK!” I said “Weren’t you scared? Have you been training for months? Was it a Christmas present? Did someone make you go?” 

“It was great! I loved it and I can’t wait to do it again!” she told me. I couldn’t believe that she had just decided to go and jump out of a perfectly good plane on her morning off. The more I thought about it, the more I thought it was a great idea. Not so much the jumping out of a plane, but the spur-of-the-moment doing something out of the blue to get the blood pumping. How exciting, I wish I could do something like that. I’m perhaps too cautious. I can be spontaneous, but I need to plan for it!  I hope I can make something like that part of my year in 2011. My own, hypothetical, jumping out of a plane, getting out of my comfort zone. That sounds a bit like a New Year’s resolution doesn’t it? Whoops!

I know Christmas is well and truly over, but I just wanted to show you some of  my lovely stash of cards that I got from fellow card makers. The handmade ones get their own space so that I can show them off. I love the variety of styles and techniques you get to see when there’s a whole bunch together.

So what can we see here . . .  paper piecing, punching, 2-step stamping, embossing, a bit of bling, prickpoint, tricky computerising, hand painted (with help from small hands I think!) and direct-to-rubber hand-coloured stamps.  And that’s just on the ones I managed to get in this photo.

I have some more bits for show and tell, but they’re in the mail ready to be received, so I shall wait till they have them before I post up here (‘coz I just know everyone just hangs off every word I write here and it will spoil any sort of surprise . .lol).

I hope you have had a chance to have a break and recharge over the festive season and that 2011 brings you much happiness, health and opportunities to jump out of your comfort zone!

Michelle
