It’s been a while, I know and if you haven’t given up on me totally, thank you! It’s been a busy little while and, as I have mentioned before, when life gets busy., sometimes something has to give.  And it’s been the blogging. Have you got time for a catch up?  Let me think, what have I been up to?   Ummm . . Let me think –

 Oh yes, there was a  crafting weekend away at Rawson Village where it snowed.  It was Spring and it snowed! I have pictures somewhere  (read: still on the camera that I can’t locate right now), but it looked pretty much like all pictures of snow in the mountains – little white flakes fluttering gently down.  Not quite in Christmas card quantities or to build a snowman, but enough for us to get excited and run out in our PJ’s taking photos of the cars with their snowy coats on.  Gaye’s bright red car looked very festive sitting out there in the snow! We had a great room with a wood fire, all to ourselves, to craft the weekend away.  I can highly recommend it if you’re looking to organise a group weekend away, where you can spend your time crafting and not have to worry about cooking or what time you go to bed! The food is scrummy, especially the freshly baked pastries and scones for morning tea! Oh yes, they were just-out-of-the-oven-warm when they were brought up top us. Yummmmm . . warm scones! If you’re thinking that you just have to have a wonderful weekend like this away, why not check out their website here. We’ve already booked our weekend away for next year!

In November there was a’ special number’ birthday for mum and we were going to celebrate it, so I needed to make invitations for her party.  As we were going to hold it in the park, we went for a picnic theme . .

That's her when she was doing her nursing training.

And I went mad with the scallop punch making decorations for the party . . 

And a cake with a gazillion little flowers . . .

Which makes for a happy mummy . ..

I carried the flower theme through to my ‘jewellery’ for the day . . take a closer look at the hair clip, my earrings and necklace ;). It was great fun and I think that everyone enjoyed the day.  It went by in the blink of an eye for me! But that smile means that it was all worthwhile!

I was also involved in the Relay for Life a few weeks back and really appreciate the support that I was given for this event. Cancer Council’s Relay For Life is more than just a fundraiser. It is an opportunity to get together with the community and celebrate cancer survivors, remember loved ones lost to cancer, and fight back against a disease that takes too much.  The most moving part of the event for me was the candlelight ceremony As dusk settles, candle tributes are placed along the inside of the track for the start of the Candlelight Ceremony.We lit a candle to honour and support someone living with cancer (in white bags) or in memory of a loved ones lost (brown bags). We inscribed our bags with messages of love, remembrance and hope that gave a warm glow around the perimeterof  the track as we walked through the night.

Just some of the candles that were lit by our team

Due to prior commitments, I wasn’t able to walk right through to the next morning, but one of the team walked for the whole 18 hours and he had walked over 60km by the end of the event.  I’m already looking forward to next years’ event and plan to stay the whole night through. My fundraising page is still open here if you would like to donate to this great cause. Great big hugs from me if you do!

Amongst all this, I had a car accident and managed to write my car off. Well I didn’t write it off, a great big bus coming up my backside side did!  Ouch!

Other than being a bit sore and sorry for myself for a few days, there was very little damage done.  Well to me, anyway.  I’ve finally got a replacement car, and am very happy to have my own wheels again.

We’ve also recently celebrated an engagement in the family, which was a happy family occasion (if not a little soggy with all the rain that came through that day). I just had to use the owl punch to make this little cutie for the couple.

It’s bit cute, don’t you think? 🙂 I cant wait to see what else I can create with this little beauty – I see penguins, Martians, deer and tulips on the horizon!

Well that’s enough from me for now.  If you’ve got this far, thanks for hanging in there and taking an interest in what I’ve been up to.  I better get cracking and get onto my Christmas cards (yes, I know it’s the 4th of December and I’ve only just started making them tonight – EEEEK! I better get cracking so that I can get them posted!)

Till next time (without such a large break in between, I promise!)

Michelle

