Welcome to The INKlings Team first ever blog hop. You may have arrived here from Dani Fender’s blog or just be visiting my blog, whichever way once you’ve checked out my creations you can continue the hop through the link at the end of this post to the next team member.

What style of cards do we frequently get asked for inspiration for? More often than not it’s masculine cards, be it little boys or grandfathers everyone seems to struggle with cards for the males in our lives.  So as a team we thought we’d help you out by providing you with 20 team members’ fantastic blogs that you can hop through and get lots of fantastic ideas from.

Would you like to win some Blog Candy?  Simply leave a comment on each blog and then click here to email Michelle Dyson and let her know you’ve done so and you’ll be in the running for a fantastic prize of 20 handmade cards plus other goodies. Sorry, the Blog Candy prize is not available to SU! demonstrators.

I’ve decided to use the Stampin’ Up! set “Circle Circus” for my masculine cards today, so let’s get this show on the road and see what I’ve come up with. Can you spot it in this card?

I hope you didn’t blink, you may have missed it! I have used the 1.3cm punch and punched a portion of one of the stamps to create the toggle on the tassel.  The background is the “thump’n’bump” technique. I’m sure it’s got a fancy name like “direct to paper” or some such thing 😉  All I did was take the ink pad and thump’n’ bump it straight onto the paper.  The letters are Junior Type “Sizzlits” from the new Autumn/Winter Mini catalogue. I love my new Big Shot especially for doing lettering for cards (like this one) and also that little heart up the top – that’s part of the set too! I’ve named my Big Shot “Betty”, you know the song  “Black Betty”  ~ whoa, black betty (bam-A-lam) Black betty had a child (bam-A-lam) The damn thing gone wild (bam-A-lam) . . .Yes, after that Betty.  Sorry if it’s stuck in your head now, but you’ll just have to go and find another tune to take it’s place. Agadoo, anyone?)

For the next card I was going for a soccer-balls-instead-of-O’s, but hubby pointed out to me that they look more like chicken wire. What do you think?

Loads of spongeing, more Timeless Type and some circles on the background, and the card is complete. Masculine cards can be quite easy, really. For my next card, I’ve used all of the above plus a bit of grungy tearing too.


I was desperate to add some glitter but the man of the house said “NO, that’s not masculine”.  I wanted to try some brown, but was advised that it really, really, really wasn’t masculine.  So thumpin’, spongeing & tearing it was. Oh, here’s a little gift card that I whipped up with some of the other circles that I had stamped and punched and didn’t know what to do with. Nothing goes to waste in my craft room 🙂

Well that’s all from me.  Next stop on the INKlings’ Team Blog Hop is Rachael Jackson.  Have fun and don’t forget to leave a comment on each blog to win some great Blog Candy.

Thanks for stopping by, I hope to see you here again soon,

Michelle

