Have you heard of Michelle Zindorf? If you haven’t ~ prepare to be amazed and move your gob to the ‘smacked’ position.  She is a goddess with a brayer and a sponge.  Her technique combines masking, sponging and embossing and you can see the phantasmagorical (that’s a word, right?) results.  She spends a lot of her time touring around the United States teaching her techniques and sharing her knowledge.  I wonder if she will come out here to ‘share’? I’d be there in a heartbeat!  As you can see by the signature, that’s one of her creations above and it’s one of her more ‘basic’ designs (if you could say that of ANY of her designs).  She uses her brayer and sponges  ~ roll, roll, roll and then dab, dab, dab, a bit of stamping and voila! there they are, entire landscapes ~ like this one below

click on the picture to go to her website to see just how she does this

Sooooooo, while I was meant to be cleaning up my stamping stuff, and there were still a few spare scraps around from my hot chocolate challenge, I thought I’d attempt a little of what Michelle does.  I really enjoyed it, but to get anywhere near her level of expertise I will need to practice! (does that mean the clearing up can wait a little longer??)  This is my first attempt at mutli colour brayer-ing with masking ~ 

It looks a little bland in comparison to Michelle Z’s creations, but when I get the hang of it, there will be more to show off (so the clearing up will have to wait while I practice).  I was quite amazed how ‘wet’ the paper was when I’d finished, but then again I had just been pushing a whole load of ink into it, so what should I expect?   I really enjoyed this technique and would like to use it more often.  I can see that this would be great for creating scrap book backgrounds too. Hmmmm That’s got me thinking – – – Oh dear, it’s bed time though 😦  so maybe tomorrow  
till next time – have fun!

Michelle

PS- I’ve used the Upsy Daisy stamp set and ink colours used here were Bashful Blue,  Baja Breeze, Not Quite Navy, Elegant Eggplant & Perfect Plum, mounted on Perfect Plum and Baja Breeze card stock.

