I’ve mentioned a couple of fund raising activites that I have been participating in lately, so I thought I would let you know what we got up to – other than raising money!

 

Crop for Kids

It’s been over a  month since the big day out at the Springvale Town Hall – I’ve been remiss in not putting up an update of the day.  Total amount raised was “somewhere between $4500 and $5000”. Which was a fantastic effort with all the recent pressures on charities with the bushfire appeals.  It was a lovely day with quite a few girls from our table taking home prizes and new-mum-of-Noah, Michelle, took home the major prize of a Dell photo printer.  She certainly has lots of new baby photos to print, so it will come in handy. 

I had an email a couple of months ago from friend who I hadn’t seen for about 13 years. She’d found me while she was googling scrapbook supplies! So we organised to catch up at CfK. Sharon and I used to work together waaay back when.. I think it was about 20 years ago that we met!  It was lovely to spend the day chatting and catching up.

I didn’t get many pages done, surprisingly, I was too busy talking – who’da thunk it?

 

Here’s some happy snaps of the smiling faces at our lucky-number-2-purple-balloon-table.

Trish & Jen

Marysville Bushfire Scrap-a-thon

Lisa organised a wonderful day in Ringwood to raise money for ESA who are providing accommodation for some Marysville families while they rebuild their homes.  This is expected to take approximately 18 months, so this is a fantastic resource for those who are currently without a home. Please check out the link to see the great work that has been done so far. This location has been a scrapping retreat for many of the ladies who were at this day and it held a lot of memories for them.  I was there showing off some stamping, selling off my retired stamps and I’d planned to do some scrapping too, but ended up working on my swaps for convention and passing time chatting to those who were actually getting some scrapping done ~ hmm I’m sensing a theme here.  There was a talk during the afternoon from one of the members from the local Camera Club giving us loads of hints and tips about taking more creative shots rather than just happy snaps for our album. There was much oo-ing and ahh-ing and talk of white balance and camera settings.  I think a few people will be signing up for the course on offer so that we can all understand what our cameras can really do. I know I’m thinking about it! 
The final amount raised was about $5,100- YAY for scrappers!  Isn’t great to be able to scrap, stamp and crop for good?

 

till next time,

 

Michelle

I’ve just found this post in my drafts folder… derrr.. I really should check that when I schedule things they actually do post.. !

