Well I’ve been and gone and I’m back again! Last Thursday I went to Canberra for the Stampin’ Up Annual Convention. How exciting!  2 days of stamping-fuelled fun! I got to meet a whole lot of wonderful people that, up until now, I have only ever ‘met’  on line or via samples swapped in the mail! There was a big dinner last Friday night with most of our INKlings and a few others  from our larger Stampin’ Up family, I think that there was about 70 of us in total.  I think the staff at that Pizza restaurant in Canberra deserved a medal at the end of the night!

Part of convention is getting loads of goodies, which come in a gorgeous convention bag… Here’s mine bag with the 2 designs of cards I made for swapping with other demos (about 100 by the time I left)

Convention Bag & my 2 styles of cards for swaps

And here’s all the swaps I got in return ~

One of the things that I love about convention is the swapping and the chatter that goes with it.  Catching up with all those lovely ladies that I met last year or have only talked to on line, not to mention all the inspiration that I get from seeing all those cards with all those great ideas! My stampin’ hands are itchy!  On Saturday night we had our Awards night and Banquet.  It was great to see all those hard working talented ladies honoured up on stage.  One of them was my upline Jayne, who was recognised as the 10th top Demonstrator overall in Australia and #3 in Leadership.  It’s not hard to see why ~ she is fanastic! If you click on the link there for her convention post, you will see a team photo – Although I was there, I wasn’t there when the photo was taken 😦 .. I missed it by >  < that much.

Swaps from convention

Swaps from convention

 I also made a wee gift to thank my (camera shy) roomie for looking after me while I’m at convention (so no photos of us, just my goodies!). She organised accommodation, picked me up from the airport and was my taxi driver all weekend. Here it is ~  It’s a little survival kit.Survival Kit for my roomie It has band aids (for paper cuts), ear plugs (ahem, in case someone else in the room snores..), mints to refresh, headache tablets (from all the chatter, or could that be the snoring again), post it notes for all those “don’t forget this great idea” spots in her notes, emergency tube of chocolates (easily transportable), ‘Fabulous’ key ring (to remind her how fabulous she is), tissues to wipe away the tears of laughter(or for her sniffle issues, as the pack proclaims),  and last but not least, some hand cream (‘cause a little pampering is always nice).  The box is an adapted version of the pizza box – as I mentioned before, you can’t make just one! 

 I’ve stamped and then used Heat & Set powder to get Orange Super Nova Glitter to stick & sparkle..Like this….

SPARKLE!
SPARKLE!

We discovered that with a little hair gel, the Supernova glitter goes into the hair beautifully too! 

Before I sign off – Stampin’ Up! have a great offer this month on their Designer Series papers (buy 3 and get one FREE) PLUS a recruiting special – Join Stampin’ Up! for only $150 – OMG! Check the website for details – here. If you’re on my mailing list, I will be sending some more information this weekend about joining this fantastic company. If you can’t wait, email me NOW 🙂
I’m teaching my first class at the Endevour Hills Neighbourhood Centre tomorrow – we are doing the wonderful waterfall cards – I think that I can guess what some mums are getting on Sunday!  Speaking of which – to all the mums out there, have a wonderful day on Sunday, I hope you have a lovely Mother’s Day and I hope you get loads of lovingly made cards!
Wow what a long post! I hope you had a cuppa with you when you started, thanks for hanging in there!
Till next time (which will be really, really soon!)
Michelle
