Last weekend was the Maffra Show –  The highlight of the show (in the Pavilion) is the live judging of a particular type of cake.  This year it was sponges & boy, you should have seen them!  They were huge!  I’m sure that the local chooks have been kept busy laying all the egg required for the cakes in this years’ competition!

Live cake judging is certainly an amazing thing, that really opened the eyes of this (non) domestic goddess. All this talk of lining tins (5 layers), fresh butter, types of eggs.. oh dear… I don’t think that I could ever live up to the CWA expectations.  I shall just keep my entries strictly in the ‘packet’ cake section!  Which didn’t happen this year. After some oven troubles the entries weren’t even up to ‘packet cake’ standards – I was too ashamed to even bring my mint slice into the stewards morning tea!

I had a few entries in the scrapping section and got a few second place awards and my entry for the ‘off-the-page’ section, got a first! YAY!  I used some papers that I love (freebies from Crop for Kids last year) from my stash and a photo of a dear friend that I haven’t seen for about 4 years now.  I used the Stampin’ Up! Spring Flower Bouquet punch for the flowers, so easy yet so effective. I love them! (There’s a picture in my blog entry below)

After all the horses, chooks, utes and cakes had been judged, the show finished with a big bang on Saturday night, as all good shows do – with fireworks.  I can’t wait for next year!

